AGN. NO.____

MOTION BY SUPERVISORS YAROSLAVSKY AND ANTONOVICH May 25, 2010

As a geographic region, the San Fernando Valley encompasses the cities of San Fernando, Burbank, Glendale, and Calabasas as well as portions of the City of Los Angeles and parts of unincorporated Los Angeles County. Because this region is physically so distinct, it makes sense for government, business and non-profit agencies to organize themselves so as to serve this region as a whole.

Government agencies operating in the San Fernando Valley have worked hard over the years to respond to this reality. In 2000, the County joined with San Fernando Valley cities to form the San Fernando Valley Interim Transportation Zone to improve bus service within the region. In 2003, the same agencies joined together to petition the United States Census to create a "Census County Division" to provide for the aggregation of census data within the geographic boundaries of the Valley; this request was granted in 2007.

Also in 2007, efforts began to form a Council of Governments (COG) for the San Fernando Valley. COGs have become critically important agencies in recent years as sub-units of the Southern California Association of Governments (SCAG), assisting the

MOTION

RIDLEY-THOMAS	
YAROSLAVSKY	 -
KNABE	
ANTONOVICH	
MOLINA	

sub-county regions to organize around common interests and goals. COGs are particularly effective in assisting jurisdictions within a region to coordinate services and address important issues such as traffic, economic development and housing. However, perhaps because most of the San Fernando Valley is located within the City of Los Angeles, which is itself a sub-region of SCAG, until 2007 there was no consideration of a COG for the San Fernando Valley.

Discussions among the parties have now been concluded and a joint powers agreement creating the COG is ready for approval. Its terms are similar to those of other JPAs creating other COGs of which the County is already a member. The San Fernando Valley Council of Governments will be a joint powers authority including as initial members the Cities of Los Angeles, Burbank, Glendale, San Fernando, and Santa Clarita, as well as the County of Los Angeles. Both of the County Supervisors representing the San Fernando Valley will be Board Representatives on the COG Board. Each Los Angeles City Councilmember representing a portion of the Valley will also be a Board Representative. The other cities will have one Board Representative each. Initial membership dues are \$10,000 per member agency. Actions of the COG Board will require unanimity of the Board Representatives present. No action may be taken without a quorum, which shall consist of the presence of a majority of the Board Representatives, representing a majority of the member agencies, including at least one Board Representative each from the City of Los Angeles, the County of Los Angeles, and two of the other cities.

WE, THEREFORE, MOVE that the Board of Supervisors approve and authorize the Chair to sign the San Fernando Valley Council of Governments Joint Powers Agreement to allow the County of Los Angeles to become a member of the San Fernando Valley COG; and

WE FURTHER MOVE that Supervisors Yaroslavsky and Antonovich be designated Board Representatives for the San Fernando Valley COG in accordance with the terms of the Joint Powers Agreement; and

WE FURTHER MOVE that Supervisors Yaroslavsky and

Antonovich be authorized to nominate Alternate Board Representatives for the COG Board of Directors in accordance with the eligibility requirements of the Joint Powers Agreement, subject to confirmation of those appointments by this Board; and

WE FURTHER MOVE that the Chief Executive Officer be directed to pay the County's \$10,000 initial membership dues for the San Fernando Valley COG from the Non-Departmental Special Account.

ABK S:\SFV COG